The Simple Woman’s Daybook….

This year I have challenged myself to participate weekly in

“The Simple Woman’s Daybook” writings…..

Here is the first of what I hope to be many….52 to be exact.

FOR TODAY

January 3, 2009

Outside my window…

a beautiful yet cold sunny Sunday morning….

I am thinking…

about my husband. He sent me the most wonderful, loving email this morning….

telling me 100 things he loves about me.

I love and miss him so very much.

I am thankful for…

a new year. A clean slate. I love fresh starts….

From the learning rooms…

working on development plans for the 2010/11 school year….

Signing up for my MAC classes – finally!

From the kitchen…

Starbucks Christmas Blend Coffee with Cinnamon Vanilla Creamer – yumm!

– made in my Keurig that I dearly love!

I am wearing…

black yoga pants, white turtleneck and my navy blue “Wizard of OZ” sweatshirt that I bought with Emily during our road trip through Kansas…..at the Wizard of Oz Museum…..on our way to Colorado….

for her to begin her new life’s journey…..

she has one too….a sweatshirt that is. and well, a new journey too…

it makes me miss her and also feel close to her when I wear it….

I really miss her but I know she is where God wants her – even if it is on the other side of the world….

I am creating…

my “10 for ’10” lists….lots of thinking and dreaming and planning and pondering!

one down – nine to go!

I am going…

to church at Summit. I love the 12:15 service….no Sunday morning rush.

wish this had been an option when I had five little ones….we might have made it to church more regularly and without the “get ready” tears that always seemed to happen on Sunday mornings….you know – the shoes that always seem to get lost on Sunday mornings, the “church clothes” that somehow never fit from the week before, the runs in the tights, the first one dressed was the first one to spill something on them or have a really “dirty diaper”…..

ah, those were the days….so thankful for my new season in life!

I am reading…

….finishing “From Good to Great in God’s Eyes” by Chip Ingram this week…

Starting several new reads:

The Literary Guide to Your Well-Read Life by Steve Leveen

A Prairie Tale by Melissa Gilbert

The Change Your Life Challenge by Brook Noel

Sanity Secrets for Stressed Out Women by Sue Augustine

The Eighth Habit by Steven Covey

The One Minute Manager & The One Minute Teacher by Blanchard & Johnson

I am hoping…

that Elizabeth can stay for the New Year, New Goals, New You Seminar…

and that several other friends will join us for this inspiring day!

I am hearing…

the heater! and just quiet…..which is very nice….

Around the house…

there are loads of Christmas decorations to be taken down and put away. I refused to be stressed by this – but will graciously embrace the opportunity (when it arises) to pack up the memories of yet another Christmas.

Each one we spend together – however  “we” and “together” are defined – is a true gift.

One of my favorite things…

spending time with family and friends. Especially friends with new babies!

I have made the effort to fully engage when I have the opportunity to “be” with either or both.

I like this…..a lot.

A few plans for the rest of the week:

gearing up for the return of “work weeks” and classes/programs to resume…..

meetings, meetings, and more meetings – but that’s okay, I happen to like meetings!

attending the Seven Habits of Highly Effective Teens on Friday….

attending the New Year, New Goals, New You Seminar on Saturday…

Here is picture for thought I am sharing…

my new little friend…..Liliana!

Visit here for more daybook entries: http://thesimplewomansdaybook.blogspot.com/

3 Comments

Filed under Simple Woman's Day Book

3 responses to “The Simple Woman’s Daybook….

  1. Have a great week! I also enjoy the fresh start a New calendar year brings.

    ~Tamara

  2. Wow! That’s quite a lot to read at one time! I’m a reader but can only do 3 books, the most.
    It’s so good to hear wives having loving husbands. Yours is so sweet to be able to write 100 things on the list. Thanks for sharing. My first time to visit and enjoying it. hope you have a great week.
    Lovely picture!

  3. amber

    Aren’t loving, caring husbands the best? What a way to start your day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

