Resolutions or is it Re: Solutions?

 

 

Yep, it’s that time again…time to make the New Year’s Resolutions….and I love it!

 

I know, most folks shudder at the thought but I love  pondering my resolutions – setting new goals – making my “to-do” lists – looking for solutions – planning – dreaming – and that goes along with it!

 

Well, unless we are adding the dreaded “diet and exercise” to the list….that’s where my motivation wanes. Those things are just not in my “strengths”….and I am learning to “play to my strengths” especially for this new year.

 

I had the opportunity to read some amazing books this past year (check out my page on Goodreads.com) and two that have really renewed the “strengths” philosophy in me are:

 

Now, Discover Your Strengths by Marcus Buckingham

and

Your Child’s Strengths by Jennifer Fox

 

From the Now, Discover Your Strengths book I was able to not only discover my own strengths and identify them but also learn how to use them – especially in my work. I highly recommend this book and the profile testing – you can find out more at www.strengthsfinder.com

 

From the StrengthFinders – in this order, here are my personal strengths:

Focus

Relator (the first time I read this I thought it said “Realtor!”)

Activator

Futuristic

Arranger

 

Now what do these mean? What do they say about me or my strengths?

 

Take a look:

 

Focus–People strong in the Focus theme can take a direction, follow through, and make the corrections necessary to stay on track. They prioritize, then act.

 

Relator–People who are strong in the Relator theme enjoy close relationships with others. They find deep satisfaction in working hard with friends to achieve a goal.

 

Activator–People strong in the Activator theme can make things happen by turning thoughts into action. They are often impatient.

 

Futuristic–People strong in the Futuristic theme are inspired by the future and what could be. They inspire others with their visions of the future.

 

Arranger–People strong in the Arranger theme can organize, but they also have a flexibility that complements this ability. They like to figure out how all of the pieces and resources can be arranged for maximum productivity.

 

Yep, that’s me a “FRAFA” to a “t”!

 

Jennifer Fox’s book, Your Child’s Strengths, has inspired many of us to look at education in a new light. What I love about a book like this – the ones where you are supposed to glean new info about your kids or the students that you teach – is the fact that you can’t help but see yourself again as a child – either struggling in school or relationships or unfortunately both.  If you have kids or teach kids or were ever a kid, you need to read this book.

 

 

Anyway,  back to  the new year’s resolutions – I haven’t quite finished my list…but I can assure you re-reading these two books will be high priority. Can I entice you to join me?  I’d love to host a discussion on here – if I only knew how…guess I should add that to my re: solutions list for the year…

 

So don’t be afraid to make your resolutions solutions list for 2009…

And why? Because I truly believe if you look at the word “resolutions” and turn it into “Re: Solutions” you’ll come away with a whole new outlook on making that list….and play to your strengths – seeking solutions as you go  grow –

and you’ll begin to make each day count to the fullest!

 

 

Here’s to living with our strengths defined in 2009! Seeking solutions rather than making resolutions!

And making it count!

 

 

Blessings,

~Carla

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Making It Count

Leave a Reply

