My Girl and God’s Promise….

It is birthday season at our house. The months of February, March & April we have four birthdays to celebrate. Two this month – both of my girls were born in March. Emily on the 3rd, and Liz on the 11th.

Today is her day. And one of my favorite days to remember.

March 11th was the day, twenty-three years ago, that God blessed me with an angel.

My little girl (after two boys).

You see, I come from a long line of first born daughters. In fact, as far back as I have been able to research, all the first born daughters on my mother’s side (of course…) gave birth first to daughters.

Except me.

When my son was born, he was the sixth living generation. Only one problem, he wasn’t a daughter. (Disclaimer – I had no problem….but the “grandmothers” were a tad disappointed)

So finally, three years later I gave birth to my third child. A girl.

My Girl.

Her name means “Promise of God” and she was and still is God’s promise to me.

Elizabeth made her debut a bit early, a bit tiny, and a bit weak but very determined. That determination is still present in her today. She is my promise from God that He was and still is in control of my life – even though my marriage was failing and our future looked very uncertain. She was the rainbow I received while we endured life’s rain.

My shining star – over-achiever – God’s girl – and now a beautiful woman. She married her beloved Matthew three years ago. They met on a mission trip when she was 15 and he was 16. Yes, young – but again all in God’s plan for her. 

n108800791_30088221_637.jpg

 Elizabeth & Matthew, Christmas 2007

She amazes me with her gifts and talents, her diligence in her studies, her passion for life and her love for her Lord. Her beauty is more than skin deep for her heart longs to help others – whether it be serving with Teen Missions or helping others in their financially struggles or being a mentor to young girls.

I am humbled to be her mother.

And I can’t wait to be a grandmother to her future sons & daughters!

….and it makes no difference to me who comes first!!

Happy Birthday Elizabeth! My promise! My girl!

1 Comment

Filed under Family

One response to “My Girl and God’s Promise….

  1. That’s so wonderful! I love hearing stories like yours from moms who have gone before me, and whose kids have turned out great.

    My daughters are great, but they’re only 13 and 10. They love God, they love us, they love each other. I have faith that they will change the world.

    But you still get nervous about whether or not they will find that special someone. Because is anyone ever good enough for your daughter?

    So it’s great to see your daughter so happy! I just keep praying that one day my daughters will meet men who will make them that ecstatic, too!

    Visit To Love, Honor and Vacuum today!

Leave a Reply

